





#### **Strategic Planning Update**

**Board of Trustees Meeting** 

June 3, 2016

A Division of the Department of State Treasurer

#### **Presentation Overview**

- Strategic Planning Update Timeline and Activities
- Board Workgroups and Future Planning



## Strategic Planning Update Timeline

- Presented CY 2015 scorecard results and suggested revisions to the Strategic Plan in April
- 1-1 phone calls scheduled with all Board members to discuss updates to the Strategic Plan and review a draft roadmap through CY 2020
- Based on Board feedback staff will make additional revisions to the Strategic Plan
- Staff will present updates to scorecard in August
- Board will be asked to vote on changes to the Strategic Plan in August



# **Revised Board Workgroups**

- Currently, the Board has two categories of workgroups:
  - Operational and Strategic
  - There are three workgroups under each area
- Due to various reasons, the current workgroup structure has not been effective
- Staff proposes reducing the number of workgroups to three
- The workgroups would cover:
  - Member and Stakeholder Outreach and Engagement
  - Provider Network, Quality, and Access
  - Benefit Design Development
- The workgroups will meet on a more regular basis to plan for CY 2018 benefits
  - 1-2 meetings prior to the August Board Meeting



## **Board Workgroup Structure**

Member and Stakeholder Outreach and Engagement	Provider Network, Quality, and Access	Benefit Design Development
Neal Alexander Paul Cunningham Charles Johnson David Rubin	Aaron McKethan Bill Medlin Warren Newton Elizabeth Poole Drew Heath, ex officio	Janet Cowell, ex officio Neal Alexander Paul Cunningham Aaron McKethan Bill Medlin

- Workgroups are limited to four voting members
- Ex officio, non-voting members (Treasurer and Director OSBM) also assigned workgroups
- Benefit Design Development workgroup includes two members from each of the other two workgroups

