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The State Health Plan’s Board of Trustees under the direction of Treasurer Dale R. Folwell, CPA, approved several 
changes for the 2018 benefi t year. These changes are meant to reduce plan complexity for members while still 
maintaining quality health coverage and providing long-term fi nancial stability for the State Health Plan.

The fi rst thing you will notice is what used to take about 50 “clicks” to complete online enrollment will now only take 
about 10! Other changes include:

The 80/20 Plan
The 80/20 Plan is a PPO plan where you pay 20% coinsurance for eligible in-network services. For some services 
(i.e., offi  ce visits, urgent care or emergency room visits), you pay a copay. Aff ordable Care Act (ACA) Preventive 
Services performed by an in-network provider are covered at 100% in this plan.

Save Even More with the 80/20 Plan
You can also save money under the 80/20 Plan when you choose high-quality provider options as shown below. 
These actions will earn you reductions to copays if you enroll in the 80/20 Plan.

A LOOK AT YOUR OPTIONS

ACTION 80/20 PLAN – COPAY REDUCED TO
Visit your selected Primary Care Provider
(or see another provider in your PCP’s offi  ce)

$10

See a Blue Options Designated Specialist $45

Use a Blue Options Designated Hospital for an inpatient stay $0 (copay not applied)

The choices you make during Open Enrollment are for benefi ts from January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018.  Once you 
choose your benefi t plan, you may not elect to switch plans until the next Open Enrollment period.  The coverage type you 
select (for example, retiree-only) will remain in eff ect until the next benefi t year, unless you experience a qualifying life event. 
Retirees are able to drop coverage without a qualifying life event at the end of the eff ective month.  A list of qualifying life 
events is included in your Benefi t Booklet available on the State Health Plan website at www.shpnc.org.

For 2018, the State Health Plan will off er two Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) plans through Blue Cross and 
Blue Shield of North Carolina (BCBSNC). These PPO plans allow you the fl exibility to visit any provider—in- or 
out-of-network—and receive benefi ts. Generally, you pay less when you visit an in-network provider. Both plans off er 
comprehensive coverage and a large provider network.

New for

2018

Family premiums have 
been frozen for the 
2018 benefi t year.

Copays and deductibles 
will not increase in 2018.

You will only have to 
complete one wellness 
premium credit, the 
tobacco attestation 
credit for the 80/20 Plan.

The Consumer-Directed 
Health Plan (CDHP) is 
being eliminated. 
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Finding a Blue Options Designated Provider
Blue Options Designated providers have been designated because they provide high-quality and cost-eff ective 
services. The specialties in which you may fi nd a Blue Options Designated provider are:  General Surgery, OB/GYN, 
Orthopedics, Cardiology, Neurology, Endocrinology and Gastroenterology. 

To fi nd a Blue Options Designated provider or hospital, visit Blue Connect and look for the label “Designated for Cost 
and Quality” or call Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina (BCBSNC) at 888-234-2416. To access Blue Connect, 
visit the State Health Plan’s website at www.shpnc.org and click Enroll Now/Access Benefi ts to log into eEnroll, the 
Plan’s enrollment system. Once you’re logged into eEnroll you will see a Blue Connect Quick Link. 

Lower Your Monthly Premiums
By completing the tobacco attestation, you can earn a wellness premium credit that will reduce your monthly 
premium. (The wellness premium credit only applies to the retiree-only premium.)

The 70/30 Plan
The 70/30 Plan is a PPO Plan where you pay 30% coinsurance for eligible in-network services. For some services 
(i.e., offi  ce visits, urgent care or emergency room visits), you pay a copay. Aff ordable Care Act preventive services and 
medications require the applicable copay under this plan.
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*Even if you completed the tobacco attestation during last year’s Open Enrollment, you must attest again 
during this year’s Open Enrollment period, which is September 30 through October 31, 2017, to receive the 
$60 dollar premium credit.  

When You Become Medicare-Eligible
When you become eligible for Medicare, your State Health Plan options change. You will be enrolled automatically 
in the UnitedHealthcare® (UHC) Group Medicare Advantage (PPO) Base Plan off ered by the State Health 
Plan. This plan is premium-free for eligible retirees if you enroll yourself only. If you prefer to be enrolled in the 
UnitedHealthcare® (UHC) Group Medicare Advantage (PPO) Enhanced Plan or the 70/30 Plan off ered by the State 
Health Plan, you must enroll online through the ORBIT system or call 855-859-0966.

Before becoming Medicare-eligible, you will receive a lot of information about health plan coverage, which may be 
confusing. The Seniors’ Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP) is a great resource to help you understand 
your health coverage options and navigate through your decisions. SHIIP, a division of the North Carolina 
Department of Insurance, off ers free, objective information about Medicare, Medicare Advantage plans, Medicare 
claims, Medicare supplement insurance, Medicare Prescription Drug Plans, and fraud and abuse prevention. To learn 
more, visit the SHIIP website (www.ncdoi.com/SHIIP) or call 855-408-1212.

2018 PREMIUM CREDIT SAVINGS 80/20 PLAN
Retiree-only Monthly Premium $110
Attest that you are tobacco-free or will enroll in QuitlineNC’s multiple-call 
program between Sept. 30 and Oct. 31*

-$60

Total Monthly Retiree-Only Premium: (With Credit) $50
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PLAN DESIGN FEATURES
80/20 PLAN 70/30 PLAN

IN-NETWORK OUT-OF-NETWORK IN-NETWORK OUT-OF-NETWORK

Annual Deductible $1,250 Individual
$3,750 Family

$2,500 Individual
$7,500 Family

$1,080 Individual
$3,240 Family

$2,160 Individual
$6,480 Family

Coinsurance
20% of eligible
expenses after

deductible

40% of eligible expenses 
after deductible and

the diff erence between 
the allowed amount

and the charge

30% of eligible
expenses after

deductible

50% of eligible expenses 
after deductible and

the diff erence between 
the allowed amount

and the charge

Medical CoinsuranceMaximum N/A $4,388 Individual
$13,164 Family

$8,776 Individual
$26,328 Family

Medical Out-of-Pocket 
Maximum

$4,350 Individual
$10,300 Family

$8,700 Individual
$26,100 Family N/A

Pharmacy Out-of- Pocket 
Maximum

$2,500 Individual
$4,000 Family $3,360

Out-of-Pocket Maximum 
(Combined Medical & Pharmacy)

$6,850 Individual
$14,300 Family

$11,200 Individual
$30,100 Family N/A

ACA Preventive Services $0 (covered at 100%) 40% after deductible, 
dependent on service   

$40 for primary doctor; 
$94 for specialist

50% after deductible, 
dependent on service   

Offi  ce Visits

$25 for primary doctor; 
$10 if you use PCP 
on ID card; $85 for 

specialist; $45 if you 
use Blue Options 

Designated specialist

40% after deductible $40 for primary doctor; 
$94 for specialist 50% after deductible

Urgent Care $70 $100

Emergency Room
(Copay waived w/admission 
or observation stay)

$300 copay, then 20% after deductible $337 copay, then 30% after deductible

Inpatient Hospital

$450 copay, then 20% 
after deductible; copay 

not applied if you 
use a Blue Options 

Designated Hospital

$450 copay, then 40% 
after deductible

$337 copay, then 30% 
after deductible

$337 copay, then 50% 
after deductible

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS
Tier 1 (Generic) $5 copay per 30-day supply $16 copay per 30-day supply

Tier 2 (Preferred Brand & 
High– Cost Generic) $30 copay per 30-day supply $47 copay per 30-day supply

Tier 3 (Non-preferred Brand) Deductible/ coinsurance $74 copay per 30-day supply

Tier 4 (Low-Cost Generic 
Specialty) $100 copay per 30-day supply 10% up to $100 per 30-day supply

Tier 5 (Preferred Specialty) $250 copay per 30-day supply 25% up to $103 per 30-day supply

Tier 6 (Non-preferred Specialty) Deductible/ coinsurance 25% up to $133 per 30-day supply

Preferred Diabetic Testing 
Supplies* $5 copay per 30-day supply $10 copay per 30-day supply

ACA Preventive Medications $0 N/A

2018 STATE HEALTH PLAN COMPARISON

* Non-preferred diabetic testing supplies are paid at Tier 3. 
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HOW YOUR PRESCRIPTIONS MAY FACTOR INTO YOUR 
2018 BENEFIT PLAN DECISION
As a reminder, the State Health Plan continues to utilize a custom, closed formulary (drug list). The formulary
indicates which drugs are excluded from the formulary and not covered by the Plan. All other drugs that are on the
formulary are grouped into tiers. Your medication’s tier determines your portion of the drug cost. For 2018, the Plan’s drug
benefi t will include six tiers, which include generics, brands and specialty medications. These are shown on page 4.

A formulary exclusion exception process is available for Plan members who, per their provider, have a medical
necessity to remain on an excluded, or non-covered, medication. If a member is approved for the excluded drug, that
drug will be placed into Tier 3 or Tier 6 and the member will be subject to the applicable cost share.

It is important to note that in the 80/20 Plan, Tier 3 and Tier 6 medications do not have a defi ned copay, but are
subject to a deductible/coinsurance. Medications that are subject to coinsurance in most cases will result in 
higher out-of-pocket costs to members.

Pharmacy Benefi t Resources:

The tools listed above include information based on the 2017 formulary and are subject to change prior to January 1,
2018. The formulary is regularly updated throughout the year, on a quarterly basis, so there is always a possibility that
the coverage status of your medication(s) could change, which may aff ect your out-of-pocket costs.

The Plan’s Pharmacy Benefi t Manager, CVS Caremark, is another valuable resource as you navigate through 
your decisions. CVS Customer Service can be reached at 888-321-3124, or you can log in to your own account at 
www.caremark.com. Remember to always discuss your prescription options with your health care provider to fi nd 
the most cost-eff ective therapy.

Drug Lookup Tool: 
this tool allows 
you to search for 
a medication to 
determine if it is a 
covered drug and get 
an estimated out-of-
pocket cost. 

Preferred Drug List: 
a list of preferred 
medications noting 
which drug requires 
any prior approvals.

Comprehensive 
Formulary List: 
a complete list of 
covered medications 
and their tier 
placement. 

Aff ordable Care 
Act Preventive 
Medication List 
(80/20 Plan only): 
medications on this 
list are covered at 
100%, which means 
there is no cost to you.

Specialty Drug 
List: a complete list 
of all medications 
available through 
CVS Specialty. 

STRENGTHEN OPIOID MISUSE PREVENTION (STOP) ACT:
Under North Carolina’s new STOP Act, eff ective January 1, 2018, prescribers of controlled substances are 
limited to issuing only a 5-day supply of an opioid or narcotic medication for the initial treatment of acute pain 
(or a 7-day supply after surgery). This requirement does not apply to cancer care, palliative care, hospice care, 
chronic pain management or medication-assisted treatment for substance use disorders. If you are suff ering 
with acute pain, please check with your health care provider prior to the end of this year to make sure your 
current medication therapy isn’t interrupted. 
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2018 MONTHLY PREMIUM RATES
Note that the monthly premiums below apply only to Non-Medicare subscribers. Monthly premiums for all plans can 
be found on the State Health Plan website at www.shpnc.org. 

80/20 PLAN MONTHLY PREMIUM

Retiree Only $50*
Retiree Only + Child(ren) $305.00*
Retiree Only + Spouse $700.00*
Retiree Only + Family $720.00*

*Assumes completion of tobacco attestation. The retiree-only premium will be $60 higher per month if the 
tobacco attestation is not completed.

70/30 PLAN MONTHLY PREMIUM

Retiree Only $0

Retiree Only + Child(ren) $218.00
Retiree Only + Spouse $590.00
Retiree Only + Family $598.00
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INFORMATION TO HELP YOU CHOOSE A PLAN  
Follow the steps below to choose the coverage that’s best for you in 2018.

1. Visit www.shpnc.org for more information about your 2018 benefi ts. Utilize the 
resources to assist you with your decision making. Resource tools include: 
• Plan Comparisons

• Health Care Summary Report (located in Blue Connect)
  This is a customized report where you can fi nd recent benefi t use and health expense details. 

• Informational videos

2. Attend a Member Outreach Event. See below for the schedule. Details are available 
at www.shpnc.org. Seating is limited so you’re encouraged to register!

COUNTY DATE TIME LOCATION

Burke 9/18/17 10-11 a.m. Western Piedmont CC

Forsyth 9/18/17 3-4 p.m. Forsyth Tech CC
Wake 9/25/17 10-11 a.m., 1-2 p.m. Wake Tech Main Campus

New Hanover 9/27/17 2-3 p.m. UNC-Wilmington
Wake 9/28/17 12:30-1:30 p.m. NC Museum of History

Cumberland 10/5/17 2-3 p.m. Fayetteville Tech CC
Wayne 10/10/17 2-3 p.m. Wayne CC

3. Participate in a webinar regarding Open Enrollment. Reserve your spot by 
visiting www.shpnc.org. 

DATE TIME
9/8/17 12:30 p.m., 4 p.m.

9/12/17 12:30 p.m.
9/14/17 12:30 p.m.
10/3/17 12:30 p.m., 4 p.m.
10/11/17 12:30 p.m.
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OPEN ENROLLMENT CHECKLIST
Decide who you want to cover under the plan: you only, you + spouse, you + children, you + family. Remember, if 
you are adding a new dependent you will need to provide a Social Security number and will be prompted to upload 
required documentation in order to verify eligibility.

Review your plan options and choose a plan 
that fi ts best for you and your family. 

When you’re ready to enroll or change your 
plan, visit www.shpnc.org and click Enroll 
Now/Access Benefi ts in the green bar.

Select Log into eEnroll through ORBIT. 
Once you are logged into ORBIT, locate the 
eEnroll button.

Review your dependent information and 
make changes, if needed.

Elect your plan: 80/20 Plan or 70/30 Plan.

Complete the tobacco attestation to reduce 
your monthly premium if you choose to 
enroll in the 80/20 Plan.

Make sure your Primary Care Provider 
information is up to date.

Review the benefi ts you’ve selected. If you 
are OK with your elections, you will be 
prompted to SAVE your enrollment.

Print your confi rmation statement for 
your records.

8

IMPORTANT: 
After you have made your choices, and they are displayed for you to review and print, you MUST scroll 
down to the bottom and click SAVE or your choices will not be recorded! Don’t overlook this critical step! 
A green congratulations message will appear when you have successfully completed your enrollment.

ALL MEMBERS MUST TAKE ACTION DURING OPEN ENROLLMENT!
All members will be automatically enrolled in the 70/30 Plan, which will remain premium free for retiree-only 
coverage. If you prefer the 80/20 Plan, YOU MUST TAKE ACTION! If you want to reduce your monthly premium in 
the 80/20 Plan, YOU MUST TAKE ACTION by completing the tobacco attestation! If you fail to take action during 
Open Enrollment, you and any eligible dependents will be enrolled in the 70/30 Plan for 2018.
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Don’t wait until the last minute! Take action today and pick the best choice 
for you and your family for 2018! 

Eligibility and Enrollment Support Center: 855-859-0966

During Open Enrollment, the Eligibility and Enrollment Support Center will off er extended hours to assist 
you with your questions.

Monday–Friday: 8 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday: 8 a.m.–noon ET.

NC HealthSmart
The State Health Plan is making changes to help improve 
services to all members, as well as reduce complexity, add 
value and secure the Plan’s long-term fi nancial stability. 
As a result, the Plan is adopting a more focused approach 
to Population Health Management services. 

Beginning January 1, 2018, telephonic coaching for 
disease and case management will be provided for the 
following conditions only:  asthma, chronic obstructive 
pulmonary disease (COPD), cerebrovascular disease 
(CVD), coronary artery disease (CAD), peripheral 
vascular disease (PAD), heart failure, and diabetes.  Case 
management will continue to be provided for members 
with complex health care needs and with conditions such 
as chronic and end stage renal disease. 

All members will continue to have access to online 
resources such as a Personal Health Portal to assist you 
in your health goals. For details, visit www.shpnc.org and 
click on the NC HealthSmart tab at the top of the page.  

Blue365: A Wellness Resource and Discount 
Program for Healthy Living.

As State Health Plan members, you can save money, live 
healthier and fi nd great member discounts on fi tness and 
health tools through Blue365®.

Staying healthy and active is easy and aff ordable. It’s the 
best investment you can make in your future. 

Blue365, off ered through BCBSNC, is a simple way to 
access trusted wellness resources, and valuable off ers 
like these:

• Fitness: Gym memberships and fi tness gear 

• Personal Care: Vision and hearing care 

• Healthy Eating: Weight loss and nutrition programs 

• Lifestyle: Travel and family activities 

• Wellness: Mind/body wellness tools and resources 

• Financial Health: Financial tools and programs

HEALTH AND WELLNESS RESOURCES

To access Blue Connect, visit the State Health
Plan’s website at www.shpnc.org and click
Enroll Now/Access Benefi ts to log into eEnroll,
the Plan’s enrollment system. 

Once you’re logged into eEnroll you will see a 
Blue Connect Quick Link. Once you are in Blue 
Connect, look for the Blue365 tab. Members must 
register to use Blue365 services. You can also fi nd 
more information in your benefi t booklet and by 
calling 855-511-2583, 8 a.m. - 6 p.m., 
Monday-Friday.
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To get started, register for Blue365 following 
these steps:
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Notice of Privacy 
Practices for the State 
Health Plan for Teachers 
and State Employees
This notice describes how medical information about 
you may be used and disclosed by the Plan and how 
you can get access to this information. Please review 
it carefully. The privacy of your medical information 
is important to us.
• Original Eff ective Date: April 14, 2003
• Revised Eff ective Date: September 23, 2013

Introduction
A federal law, the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (HIPAA), requires that health 
plan and health care providers protect the privacy of 
certain medical information. This notice covers the 
medical information practices of the State Health 
Plan for Teachers and State Employees. This notice 
is intended to inform you of your rights under 
the privacy provisions of HIPAA and the HIPAA 
obligations imposed on the Plan. The Plan is required 
to maintain the privacy of PHI in accordance with 
HIPAA (as summarized herein), provide this Notice 
to covered individuals, and notify aff ected individuals 
following a “breach” of unsecured Protected Health 
Information (PHI) (as defi ned by HIPAA). The 
privacy laws of a particular state or other federal 
laws might impose a stricter privacy standard than 
HIPAA. If these stricter laws apply, the Plan will 
comply with the stricter law to the extent such laws 
are not otherwise preempted. It is necessary that 
certain employees of the plan sponsor be permitted 
to access, use, and/or disclose the minimum amount 
of your PHI to perform certain plan administration 
functions. In accordance with HIPAA, we restrict 
access to your health plan information only to certain 
employees who need to know that information 
to perform plan administration and we maintain 
physical, electronic, and procedural safeguards that 
comply with federal regulations to guard your health 
plan information. If you have general questions about 
your medical claims information maintained by the 
Plan, call or write to the privacy contact identifi ed at 
the end of this notice.

What Information Is Protected?
Only identifi able health information that is created 
or received by or on behalf of the Plan is protected by 
HIPAA. This health information is called “protected 
health information” (PHI).

How the Plan May Use and Disclose Your PHI
This section describes how the Plan can use and 
disclose PHI. Please note that this notice does not list 
every use or disclosure; instead, it gives examples of 
the most common uses and disclosures.
It is necessary for certain third parties to assist the Plan 
in administering your health benefi ts under the Plan. 
These entities keep and use most of the PHI maintained 
by or on behalf of the Plan such as information about 
your health condition, the health care services you 
receive, and the payments for such services. They 
use and disclose your PHI to process your benefi t 
claims and to provide other services necessary to plan 
administration. They are legally obligated to use the 
same privacy protections as the Plan.

Primary Uses and Disclosures of PHI
The Plan may disclose your PHI so that your doctors, 
dentists, pharmacies, hospitals and other health care 
providers may provide you with medical treatment.
• The Plan also may send your PHI to doctors for 

patient safety or other treatment-related reasons.
• The Plan may use and disclose your PHI to 

facilitate payment of benefi ts under the Plan; 
including determining eligibility for benefi ts, 

calculating your benefi ts under the Plan, paying 
your health care providers for treating you, 
calculating your copays and coinsurance amounts, 
deciding claims appeals and inquiries, and/or 
coordinating coverage. For example, the Plan may 
disclose information about your medical history 
to a physician to determine whether a particular 
treatment is experimental, investigational, or 
medically necessary or to decide if the Plan will 
cover the treatment.

• The Plan may use and disclose your PHI for 
additional related health care operations necessary 
to operate the Plan, including but not limited to: 
underwriting and soliciting bids from potential 
insurance carriers; merger and acquisition 
activities; setting premiums; deciding employee 
premium contributions; submitting claims to the 
Plan’s stop-loss (or excess-loss) carrier; conducting 
or arranging for medical review; legal services; 
audit services; and fraud and abuse detection 
programs. NOTE: The Plan will not use or disclose 
“genetic information” (as defi ned in 45 C.F.R. 
160.103) for purposes of underwriting.

• The Plan may use your PHI to contact you or give 
you information about treatment alternatives or 
other health-related benefi ts and services that may 
be of interest to you.

Other Uses and Disclosures of PHI
The Plan is required to disclose your PHI to the 
Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services if the Secretary is investigating or 
determining compliance with HIPAA.
• The Plan will disclose PHI about you when 

required to do so by federal, state or local law.
• The Plan may release your PHI for Workers’ 

Compensation or similar programs.
• The Plan may use and disclose PHI about you 

when necessary to prevent a serious threat to your 
health and safety or the health and safety of the 
public or another person.

• If you are an organ donor, the Plan may 
release your PHI to organizations that handle 
organ procurement or organ, eye or tissue 
transplantation or to an organ donation bank, as 
necessary to facilitate organ or tissue donation and 
transplantation.

• If you are a member of the armed forces, the Plan 
may release your PHI as required by military 
command authorities.

• The Plan may disclose your PHI for certain public 
health activities including but not limited to:
- Disclosure to a public health authority that 

is authorized by law to collect or receive 
information for the purpose of preventing 
or controlling disease and conducting 
public health surveillance and public health 
investigations;

- Disclosure to a person who has responsibility 
to the FDA regarding the quality, safety, or 
eff ectiveness of an FDA-regulated product or 
activity; and

- Disclosure to a person who may have been 
exposed to a communicable disease or who may 
be otherwise at risk of contracting or spreading 
a disease or condition, if the covered entity is 
authorized by law to notify such person.

• If the Plan reasonably believes that you or a 
child has been the victim of domestic or child 
abuse or neglect, the Plan may disclose PHI 
to certain entities authorized by law to receive 
such information provided certain conditions 
are satisfi ed (in most cases your agreement is 
necessary unless you are incapacitated or the Plan 
reasonably believes that disclosure is necessary to 
prevent harm or threat to life).

• The Plan may disclose your PHI to a health 
oversight agency for activities authorized by law 
(for example, audits, investigations, inspections, 
and licensure).

• If you are involved in a lawsuit or a dispute, the 
Plan may disclose your PHI in response to a court 
or administrative order.

• The Plan may also disclose your PHI in response 
to a subpoena, discovery request, or other lawful 
process provided that, if the Plan is not a party to 
the litigation, good faith attempts have been made 
to tell you about the request or to obtain an order 
protecting the information requested.

• The Plan may release your PHI if asked to do so by 
a law enforcement offi  cial in certain instances.

• The Plan may disclose PHI to a coroner or medical 
examiner for purposes of identifying a deceased 
person, determining the cause of death, or other 
duties as authorized by law.

• The Plan may disclose your PHI to 
authorized federal offi  cials for intelligence, 
counterintelligence, and other national security 
activities authorized by law.

• If you are an inmate of a correctional institution 
or under the custody of a law enforcement offi  cial, 
the Plan may release your PHI to the correctional 
institution or law enforcement offi  cial.

• Using its best judgment, the Plan may disclose 
your PHI to a family member, other relative, or 
close friend. Such a use will be based on how 
involved the person is in your care or payment that 
relates to that care.

• The Plan may release claims payment information 
to spouses, parents, or guardians, unless you 
specifi cally object in writing to the Privacy 
Manager identifi ed in the Notice.

Other uses and disclosures of your PHI that are 
not described above will be made only with your 
written authorization. For example, an authorization 
is required in the following instances: (i) any use 
or disclosure of psychotherapy notes except as 
otherwise permitted in 45 C.F.R. 164.508(a)(2); (ii) 
any use or disclosure for “marketing” except as 
otherwise permitted in 45 C.F.R. 164.508(a)(3); (iii) 
any disclosure which constitutes a sale of PHI. If you 
authorize the Plan to use or disclose your PHI, you 
may revoke the authorization at any time in writing. 
However, your revocation will only stop future uses 
and disclosures that are made after the Plan receives 
your revocation. It will not have any eff ect on the 
prior uses and disclosures of your PHI.

Your Rights Regarding PHI
You have the following rights regarding PHI the Plan 
has about you:
• You have the right to inspect and copy your PHI 

that may be used to make decisions about your 
benefi ts. To inspect and copy your PHI that may 
be used to make decisions about you, you must 
submit your request in writing to the appropriate 
privacy contact listed in this Notice. If you request 
a copy of this information, the Plan may charge 
a fee for the costs of copying, mailing or other 
supplies associated with your request. The Plan 
may deny your request to inspect and copy your 
PHI in certain very limited circumstances. HIPAA 
provides several important exceptions to your 
right to access your PHI. For example, you will 
not be permitted to access psychotherapy notes 
or information compiled in anticipation of, or for 
use in, a civil, criminal or administrative action 
or proceeding. The Plan will not allow you to 
access your PHI if these or any of the exceptions 
permitted under HIPAA apply. If you are denied 
access to your PHI, you may request a review of the 
denial.

• If you feel that PHI the Plan has about you is 
incorrect or incomplete, you may ask the Plan 
to amend the information. You have the right 
to request an amendment for as long as the 
information is kept by or for the Plan. To request 
an amendment, you must submit your request in 
writing to the appropriate Privacy Contact listed 
below. Your request must list the specifi c PHI you 
want amended and explain why it is incorrect or 
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incomplete. The Plan may deny your request for 
an amendment if it is not in writing or does not list 
why it is incorrect or incomplete. In addition, the 
Plan may deny your request if you ask the Plan to 
amend information that is:
- Not part of the PHI kept by or for the Plan;
- Not created by the Plan or its third party 

administrators;
- Not part of the information which you would be 

permitted to inspect and copy; or
- Accurate and complete.

If the Plan denies your request, it must provide you a 
written explanation for the denial and an explanation 
of your right to submit a written statement 
disagreeing with the denial no later than 60 days 
after receipt of your request.
• When you make a request, we are required to 

disclose to you the portion of your PHI that 
contains medical records, billing records, and any 
other records used to make decisions regarding 
your health care benefi ts. You also have the right 
to request an “accounting” of certain disclosures 
of your PHI. The accounting will not include (1) 
disclosures for purposes of treatment, payment, 
or health care operations; (2) disclosures made 
to you; (3) disclosures made pursuant to your 
authorization; (4) disclosures made to friends 
or family in your presence or because of an 
emergency; (5) disclosures for national security 
purposes; and (6) disclosures incidental to 
otherwise permissible disclosures. To request an 
accounting, you must submit a written request to 
the Privacy Contact identifi ed in this Notice. Your 
request must state a time period of no longer than 
six (6) years.

• You have the right to request that the Plan 
communicate with you about health plan matters 
in a certain way or at a certain location. We are 
only obligated to comply with such a request if 
the disclosure will endanger you. For example, 
you can ask that the Plan only contact you at work 
or by mail. You also have the right to request a 
restriction or limitation on your protected health 
information that we use or disclose for treatment, 
payment, or health care operations or for 
disclosures to other individuals involved in your 
care. We are generally not obligated to comply 
with any request for restrictions or limitations. To 
request alternative communications or restrictions 
and/or limitations, you must submit your request 
in writing to the appropriate privacy contact 
listed below or you can call 888-234-2416. Your 
request must specify how or where you wish to be 
contacted.

Changes to This Notice
The Plan has the right to change this notice at any 
time. The Plan also has the right to make the revised 
or changed notice eff ective for medical information 
the Plan already has about you as well as any 
information received in the future. You may request a 
copy by calling 888-234-2416.

Complaints
If you believe your privacy rights have been violated, 
you may fi le a complaint with the Plan or with the 
Secretary of the Department of Health and Human 
Services.
To fi le a complaint with the Plan, contact the Privacy 
Contact identifi ed in this Notice. You will not be 
penalized or retaliated against for fi ling a complaint.
Privacy Contact
The Privacy Contact is:
State Health Plan
Attention: HIPAA Privacy Offi  cer
3200 Atlantic Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27604
919-814-4400

Enrollment in the Flexible Benefi t Plan
(under IRS Section 125) for the State Health Plan
If you are an active employee, you are eligible 
for participation in the Flexible Benefi t Plan to 
have your health benefi t plan premium payments 
deducted on a pre-tax basis. Retirees and members 
with COBRA continuation coverage are not eligible 
for participation since they must have current 
earnings from which the premium payments can 
be deducted. The Flexible Benefi t Plan allows any 
premiums you pay for health benefi t coverage to be 
deducted from your paycheck before Federal, State, 
and FICA taxes are withheld. By participating, you 
will be able to lower your taxable income and lower 
your taxable liability, thereby in eff ect, lowering the 
net cost of your health plan coverage.
The Flexible Benefi t Plan is designed so that your 
participation will be automatic unless you decline. 
If you wish to decline participation and have your 
contributions paid on an “after-tax” basis, you must do 
so in the eEnroll system or by completing the Flexible 
Benefi t Plan (IRS Section 125) Rejection form available 
on the Plan’s website at www.shpnc.org. You will have 
the opportunity to change your participation election 
during each Open Enrollment period. The Flexible 
Benefi t Plan administered by the State Health Plan is 
for the payment of health benefi t plan premiums on a 
before-tax basis only and is separate and distinct from 
NCFlex, which is administered by the Offi  ce of State 
Human Resources.
Your health benefi t coverage can only be changed 
(dependents added or dropped) during the Open 
Enrollment period or when one of the following 
events occurs:
• Your marital status changes due to marriage, 

death of spouse, divorce, legal separation, or 
annulment.

• You increase or decrease the number of your 
eligible dependents due to birth, adoption, 
placement for adoption, or death of the dependent.

• You, your spouse, or your eligible dependent 
experiences an employment status change 
that results in the loss or gain of group health 
coverage. 

• You, your spouse, or your dependents become 
entitled to coverage under Part A or Part B of 
Medicare, or Medicaid.

• Your dependent ceases to be an eligible 
dependent (e.g., the dependent child reaches 
age 26).

• You, your spouse, or your dependents commence 
or return from an unpaid leave of absence such as 
Family and Medical Leave or military leave.

• You receive a qualifi ed medical child support 
order (as determined by the plan administrator) 
that requires the plan to provide coverage for your 
children.

• If you, your spouse or dependents experience a 
cost or coverage change under another group 
health plan for which an election change was 
permitted, you may make a corresponding 
election change under the Flex Plan (e.g., your 
spouse’s employer signifi cantly increases the cost 
of coverage and as a result, allows the spouse to 
change his/her election).

• If you change employment status such that you 
are no longer expected to average 30 hours of 
service per week but you do not lose eligibility 
for coverage under the State Health Plan (e.g., you 
are in a stability period during which you qualify 
as full time), you may still revoke your election 
provided that you certify that you have or will 
enroll yourself (and any other covered family 
members) in other coverage providing minimum 
essential coverage (e.g., the marketplace) that is 
eff ective no later than the fi rst day of the second 
month following the month that includes the date 
the original coverage is revoked.

• You may prospectively revoke your State 
Health Plan election if you certify your intent 

to enroll yourself and any covered dependents 
in the marketplace for coverage that is eff ective 
beginning no later than the day immediately 
following the last day of the original coverage that 
is revoked.

• You or your children lose eligibility under 
Medicaid or a state Children’s Health Insurance 
Program. In this case you must request enrollment 
within 60 days of losing eligibility.

• If you, your spouse or your dependent loses 
eligibility for coverage (as defi ned by HIPAA) 
under any group health plan or health insurance 
coverage (e.g., coverage in the individual market, 
including the marketplace), you may change your 
participation election.

In addition, even if you have one of these events, 
your election change must be “consistent” with 
the event, as defi ned by the IRS. Consequently, 
the election change that you desire may not be 
permitted if not consistent with the event as 
determined by IRS rules and regulations. When 
one of these events occurs, you must complete your 
request through your online enrollment system 
within 30 days of the event (except as described 
above). If you do not process the request within 30 
days, you must wait until the next Open Enrollment 
to make the coverage change. Whenever you report 
a change due to a qualifying event, your premium 
deduction will be on a pre-tax basis.

Notice Regarding Mastectomy-Related 
Services
As required by the Women’s Health and Cancer 
Rights Act of 1998, benefi ts are provided for 
mastectomy-related services including all stages 
of reconstruction and surgery to achieve symmetry 
between the breasts, prostheses, and complications 
resulting from a mastectomy, including 
lymphedema. For more information, contact 
Customer Service at 888-234-2416.

Notice of HIPAA Special Enrollment
If you are declining enrollment for yourself or your 
dependents (including your spouse) because of other 
health insurance or group health plan coverage, you 
may be able to enroll yourself and your dependents 
in this plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility 
for that other coverage (or if the employer stops 
contributing towards your or your dependents’ other 
coverage). However, you must request enrollment 
within 30 days after your or your dependents’ 
other coverage ends (or after the employer stops 
contributing toward the other coverage).
If you have a new dependent as a result of marriage, 
birth, adoption, or placement for adoption, you may 
be able to enroll yourself and your dependents. 
However, you must request enrollment within 30 
days after the marriage, birth, adoption, or placement 
for adoption. 
If you decline enrollment for yourself or for an 
eligible dependent (including your spouse) while 
Medicaid coverage or coverage under a state 
children’s health insurance program is in eff ect, you 
may be able to enroll yourself and your dependents 
in this plan if you or your dependents lose eligibility 
for that other coverage. However, you must request 
enrollment within 60 days after your or your 
dependents’ coverage ends under Medicaid or a 
state children’s health insurance program.
If you or your dependents (including your spouse) 
become eligible for a state premium assistance 
subsidy from Medicaid or through a state children’s 
health insurance program with respect to coverage 
under this plan, you may be able to enroll yourself 
and your dependents in this plan. However, you 
must request enrollment within 60 days after your 
or your dependents’ determination of eligibility for 
assistance. 
To request special enrollment or obtain more 
information, contact the Enrollment and Billing 
Support Center at 855-422-6272. 
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